I Got A Sponsor (Sort Of)


Image representing Match as depicted in CrunchBase

Oh NO, internet.  Shit’s about to get all real up in here.  Yeah, sorry, I don’t normally even say things like that.

A few days ago I was tweeting about wanting to try Match or EHarmony for free, and jokingly offered to blog about my experience in exchange for a free subscription.  And lo and behold, what appeared before me but a Direct Message from Match.com saying “Let’s talk.”

So talk I did.  I emailed the lovely Colin who runs the Match.com Twitter account and gave him my elevator pitch.  You know, a brief (think 30 second) sales pitch of what you are, what you do, and what you want.

I flat-out told Colin that I’m in a dry spell, I dated the same guy for eight years, and I’m looking to keep a fresh, fun dating blog during this process of getting back out there.  I also admitted that as a single girl in a city, I’m, well, broke.  And maybe he could give me a trial of Match in exchange for what I do best–honest blogging. I included a link and thanked him for even responding via Twitter.  And I mean that.  I’ve never had a major business even reply to me via Twitter, much less contact me unprompted.  I’m thoroughly impressed Colin.

And after an initial misfire (my email to Colin was flagged as “adult”– how embarrassing!), Colin wrote back and offered me a subscription no questions asked.  Colin offered the subscription before he knew my readership (meager but growing), my commitment to writing (I will blog every detail, I swear!), or my willingness to trust the Match.com formula (I’m ready!).

So this is where it gets real, readers.  This is where I start meeting people and going out on the town.  It’s about to get alllll real up in this house.

I’d like to tell you I’m not nervous, but I am.  So many things are rushing to my mind.  Am I ready?  What if nobody contacts me?  What if somebody does contact me?

It’s too late.  It’s time to roll.  This is where it gets interesting, right?

So pretty much this is what I think it all boils down to:  I’m about to give you an absolutely honest view of what I think the Match.com experience is like.  I am promising you a realistic view of the product, a realistic look at how I use the product, and probably many hilarious errors on my part.

Alright, enough blogging for today.  I’m about to giddily skip off and work on my profile!

Buckle up internet, it’s about to be a bumpy ride..

7 thoughts on “I Got A Sponsor (Sort Of)

  1. Good luck and have fun with it!!

    I met two boyfriends on Match (the current one I met last year; the previous one I met in 2007), so it does work. I am one of those people who always says, “if I can do it… you can absolutely do it” – and this applies to dating, exercise, running, work, etc.

    There will be good, there will be bad, and there will be ugly. But there can also be amazing – in that you can meet someone great.

    I look forward to reading about your adventures with Match 🙂

  2. Wow, good work! Internet dating stories were my reason for becoming immersed in blogworld in the first place, so I’m looking forward to reading what’s to come!

  3. That is so awesome!
    I know a girl who met her fiance on Match.com, so she pretty much swears by it.
    I’m definitely looking forward to this… 🙂

  4. Holla! Best of luck, lady!

    I’ve never done Match myself, but one of my best buddies says that keeping a little mystery is the key to success.

    I can’t wait to read about your antics!

Leave a Reply

