Yeah But Can I Get Yo’ Numba..?


 

I stopped inside a gas station the other morning on the way to work. It was around 6:30, I had left early in order to buy a Yankee Swap $3.99 Christmas present for the office party — I was buying $3.00 in lotto tickets and a 99 cent beef jerkey stick, fyi — when the inspiration for this blog hit me. Well, actually, it hit on me.

When I left the house I felt cute. I had styled my signature blonde hair naturally, letting it be wavy rather than stick-straight. I wore a skirt, leggings, and knee high boots along with a brand new pair of leg warmers. I was dressed in red and feeling festive (clearly this is prior to the Death Flu that consumed me literally hours later!), and I bopped into the convenience store to make my purchase. I walked to the back of the store first, grabbed a drink for myself, then swiped a jerky stick off the shelf and waited patiently in line.

A younger guy behind the counter greeted me. He looked about my age. I requested the three lotto tickets and we made small talk about my choices in beverage, food, and entertainment that morning and I explained myself. “I’m buying this for a Christmas party, not for personal use!” I laughed. And he sort of looked at me. “Well, I guess that doesn’t make me look any better, bringing this as a gift to a party, huh? It’s a gag gift..” I trailed off. He jumped on it.

“You look great.” He held my change tightly and wasn’t letting it go without a fight, I could tell.

“Ha. Thanks. Retro legwarmer day I suppose..” I was nervous. At this point I wanted my change and wanted to get out of the gas station as fast as possible when wearing heeled boots and leg warmers.

“Where do you work?” He pressed. Pressed? No, it was friendly, but I wasn’t in the mood for this at 6:30 in the middle of a gas station. So I told him the truth. And he was impressed.

Finally, I reached in for my change, seemingly hours later, he opened his mouth as I grabbed my dollar-seventy-six. “Could I get your number, maybe call you sometime?”

Ughhhhh.

It’s just…I can’t say that he’s positively not my type. I don’t know him well enough to know. He wasn’t bad looking, but he wasn’t good looking either. But for some reason, I just did not want to share the digits with him. Maybe it was early, maybe I wasn’t attracted to him, maybe I’m a snob. I don’t know.

But there was no good way out of this. The classic “I don’t give out my number” seemed played out, but that’s what I used. “I don’t really give out my number, but I stop at this gas station a lot, so maybe you’ll get lucky sometime?”

I wince as I write those words. “get lucky sometime”? Gross, Blonde. Gross.

So this is where I turn to you, readers, and say “Lead me!” That is, after all, the name of this blog, isn’t it? How do you decline giving out your digits? Do you just give them out freely? Am I being lame?

I considered having business cards made with a gmail address on them..so I could give out my first name and email address to suitors who didn’t deserve the entire digit priviledge but seemed like worthy emailers. Am I overthinking this?

 

 

12 thoughts on “Yeah But Can I Get Yo’ Numba..?

  1. How is a guy supposed to know when a girl is flirting or just being friendly?

    Of course I would rather live in a world where all girls are friendly, but still, it would be nice if there was a universal sign, like a phrase or piece of jewelry or clothing that implies “Im not wasting my time being friendly, I actually want to know you better!”.

    Ability to read minds in situations like that would be nice /sigh

    In answer to your question: Laugh and say “you wish!”, then “my change please?”

    1. Funny you say “you wish!” because that’s usually my go-to flirting answer when I want to give out my number. I usually say “you wish!” and then write my number on something with a wink. I’m the queen of mixed signals and for that, I truly apologize!

      Maybe women should biologically evolve a feature that reveals their level of interest, like a skin color change… 😉

      On behalf of women everywhere, I apologize for our confusing nature,
      xoxo The Blonde.

  2. Amen, Milllo, Amen.

    I like to think I’m realtively perceptive for a guy but still… it would be nice if there was some universal or even regional “It’s OK, go ahead and hit on me.”/”Don’t even think about it” sign.

    In the past month there have been four women I’ve met in real life I’ve been interested in possibly taking out for dinner/drinks/whatever.

    The first two, after a decent conversation, right before I was going to ask either for a number of a date happened to mention something about her fiancee. The next two, friends of a dear female friend of mine died when I asked that friend about their status. Yep, taken.

    Uggh. Uggh. Uggh.

    Am I really that unattractive as a package?

  3. I agree with Milllo too – I occasionally meet a woman and wonder if she might be interested in me, but one thing which puts me off trying to find out is the thought that she might actually be offended by my misunderstanding! I don’t want to be an Ughhhhh!

    I’d probably give my phone number to any woman who asked (while I’m single) but it’s different because I’m not worried by the prospect of their being dangerous or too persistent (yes, it’s been too long since I last watched Fatal Attraction!) I actually think you handled the situation OK under the circumstances – but I don’t see anything wrong with the business cards idea either!

    1. It’s always worth asking, I’d say, but the problem is that I need a polite way to decline giving mine out. Maybe I should have just accepted HIS number. The problem with that is that it puts the ball in my court. Such a dilemma.

      I’ve had the same phone number (cellular) for almost 10 years..and I’d like to keep it! that’s why I’m so wary of giving it out.

      xoxo The Blonde.

  4. The business card thing is actually a really good idea. There’s nothing wrong with valuing your privacy, and nowadays, having someone’s phone number means you can potentially harass them indefinitely. My crazy ex still calls/texts me every once in a while, and I haven’t really been on speaking terms with him for nearly four years now. :\

    This might be weird for what you’re going for, but I really like Moo cards. They’re the size of a stick of gum and you can put pictures on the front of them, which distinguishes them from other business cards. Even without using your actual picture on the fronts of them (which might be a little weird…), you can use pictures of things you like to make them memorable. (I keep meaning to get a set for cons…)

    1. Maybe we can brainstorm on a business card to have my information on it. I saw a set for sale that I liked and maybe we could make. You’re creative.. 😉

      xoxo The Blonde.

      PS the real person behind this Blonde facade misses you!

    2. genome468 on January 14, 2011 i checked out your site. not bad. its done pettry much like craigslist so i enjoyed the familiarity. A question tho. how long has the site been up? This can grow to be a big thing just like craigslist.. good luck to ya

  5. Frankly, I’m impressed! Your small talk was adorable and I’m not surprised he asked you out! Also, except for the “lucky” part… (huge LOL!) you did it just right. Hard to get.

    Should you change your mind and want to go out with him, all you have to do now is go buy a pack of gum. There is nothing wrong with fine tuning the ol’ game.

    Well played, blonde. Well played.

    -Bianca & The Girls.

    1. My small talk tends to get me in trouble. By nature, I am a friendly and (in my humble opinion!) funny girl that will talk to just about anyone. Sometimes that leaves me out in the open as ‘flirtatious’, which is fine, until something like this happens!

      Great point about the pack of gum though.

      Thanks for the feedback! xoxo The Blonde.

Leave a Reply

