Q&A Tuesday: Blind Dating for the Blind Blonde?


It’s that time of the week again….Most every Tuesday I answer questions submitted by readers on my formspring.me account.  I invite questions or insight anonymously on the site and answer them in a post the following week. Submit your questions for next week’s edition by clicking this link.  Link opens in a new window.

Have you ever been on a blind date?

I have to resist the urge to start every answer here with ‘interesting’, but I do find questions that you all ask of me so very interesting!

I have never been on  a true blind date.  By ‘true blind date’ I mean, of course, that I’ve never been set up by a friend or relative to meet someone who I’ve never met before for drinks, dinner, or anything else. The closest I’ve come are the last two dates I’ve been on where I have met the person either online or in person before our dinner.  I don’t count this as a blind date, though, because some of the thrill and fear of a blind date is the mystery!

I am very interested in trying my hand at a blind date.  Most of my friends, though, don’t have eligible men in their life that are near my age.  I often wonder if the art of the blind date is gone, given the various dating sites that are on the internet.  If you’re looking to be set up with someone now, instead of consulting your network of friends and relatives, you take it into your own hands and go online.

I see some benefits of blind dating.  Namely:  1) there has been no Facebook stalking/googling/first impressions made, and therefore you can show up with no expectations.  There will be no feeling of “He looks fatter in person” or “Her eyes don’t sparkle like they do in that profile picture.”  You can simply take the person as they are, and they should be doing the same for you! 2) If you know relatively little about your date, you’ll have more questions to ask.  You’ll need the basics “Where do you work?” “Where did you go to school/grow up?” in addition to all the other subjects you can talk about on a date.  It gives you some peace of mind that you’ll have something to talk about if you don’t already know all the answers! and finally 3) its practice.  Practice dating, practice meeting people, practice being yourself.  Nothing can be more stressful than meeting someone new, but the more you do it, the better you’ll be!

So.  Anybody have someone they’d like to introduce to The Blonde?

Leave a Reply

