Make It or Break It


Hi again.  Yesterday I brought you the cheery news that we’re officially entering Engagement Season.  I hope not all of you ordered new calligraphy sets for your Save The Date notices…because I forgot one tiny bit of information.

Today I’m here to bring you the news that there’s another season that is on the horizon.  BREAK UP SEASON! 

Take a look at this chart that graphed Facebook’s relationship status changes over the course of a year:

When we eliminate the outlier of April Fool’s Day, it seems that breaking up increases at a steady pace from November on, with the zenith being the few weeks prior to Christmas.  After Christmas, things seem to settle down before kicking back into high gear leading up to Valentine’s Day. 

One can only guess at the timing of these break-ups.  I can’t help but wonder if the impending holidays don’t add stress to couples who are already at a make-it-or-break-it point.  The question of where to spend holidays can weigh heavily on the minds of men and women alike, and actually spending a holiday with someone can be the proverbial nail in the coffin in some cases, I’m sure. Maybe his Aunt Sally hits the ‘nog too hard and all of a sudden you’re on the spot explaining just why it’s not your fault you haven’t gotten an engagement ring yet, thank-you-very-much. But I digress.

The interesting spike, to me, is the two-weeks-before-Christmas increase that you can note on the chart above.  I sincerely wonder if spending Thanksgiving together (or apart) and realizing you have to do it all over again in a month leads to any of those decisions.  I mean, I’m a single person and the proximity of Thanksgiving and Christmas can sometimes be daunting just for me! I also wonder if anybody realistically evaluates how their Thanksgiving went or how their relationship in general is going…and opts out of it before having to commit to buying an expensive gift for Christmas.  I know, I know.  It seems stupid, but for some reason I really think people would do something like that. 

 The actual Valentine’s Day spike makes a lot of sense to me, too. How many times have you seen a pre-VD or post-VD break up brought on by expectations of the holiday that weren’t met? Or, more dreadfully, maybe you weren’t the only one she asked to be her Valentine? (This reminds me of the person who sent out the mass text on Valentine’s Day…gotta love it.)

Much is to be learned from the charting of Facebook trends, it seems.  Who knew August and September were the safest times to have a significant other?

It seems that we’re in for a long winter, folks.  Brace yourselves and prepare for the onslaught of engagements and break-ups.  It’s a very confusing time to be in a relationship.  But I wouldn’t know… oops.

Interestingly enough, my break up fell at a low point on the chart–July.  That’s The Blonde for you…defying the odds at every turn.

2 thoughts on “Make It or Break It

Leave a Reply

