Q&A Tuesday: College Football, revisited


 Most every Tuesday I answer questions submitted by readers on my formspring.me account.  I invite questions or insight anonymously on the site and answer them in a post the following week. Submit your questions for next week’s edition by clicking this link.  Link opens in a new window.

Would you date someone who wasn’t a fan of football?

A:  Yes.  Of course. 

As long as my partner could respect my interests, I’m cool with it.

While I find college football to be an important part of my childhood and something that I enjoy watching and attending in person, it is not a deal breaker for me if someone I chose to date simply didn’t care for football.  We all have our passions, and most of us have more than one.  I like college football, reading, blogging, and trying new restaurants among many, many other things.  So I am confident that even if we didn’t share a common love of college football, we would connect on some other level and enjoy doing other things together.  While I really, really love college football, it’s certainly not the only thing that I enjoy and find passion in.

Who wouldn’t I date, though? Someone with a chip on their should about my passion for football.  It’s okay if you don’t find football interesting or important, but I don’t want my interest in football minimized.  I don’t appreciate individuals who chastise fans of college football as stupid or intellectually deficient.  It’s definitely rude and unnecessary.  Just because we don’t share that in common doesn’t mean it’s okay for you to diminish its importance in my life.  We all have our ‘vices’, we all have our interests.  I really don’t want to call someone else’s passion a waste of time, energy, or intellectual effort.  This is a basic truth I hold for all relationships in my life, romantic or otherwise.  If you cannot respect who I am, why should we spend time together?

So no, you don’t have to love football to date me.  You just have to love me as a whole and accept that it comes in the package.  And I’ll do the same for you, for whatever it is you love!

One thought on “Q&A Tuesday: College Football, revisited

  1. Pingback: World Spinner

Leave a Reply

