Freedom Friday: October


Photo © by Jeff Dean.
Image via Wikipedia

To be honest, I am glad to see September end.  Today is the beginning of a new month, a weekend, and hopefully better things ahead.

September hasn’t been super great for me.  I mean, worse things have happened but it just has been a trying month for me in a number of ways.  It’s definitely a busy time of year at work, I have some bills to pay, and my grandmother took a fall again recently. 

But it’s October.  My favorite month of the year.  I love the slow change to fall, the almost perfect temperatures that are occurring, and the changing of the leaves to my favorite color…orange!  I live in a great area of the country to watch this transformation take place.  And last but not least, it’s my birth month. 

Because of the changing of the weather, the turning from the intense heat of summer, and having a birthday in October, I always consider the month a time for starting anew.  In a way, it’s like a test run for the new year in January.  I like to reflect on the way I spent my last year, and look forward to how I’ll spend the upcoming year every October. 

So today, I’m thankful that things are able to start over again this month.  I need a re-do on September, but since that’s not possible…I guess having a fabulous October will just have to make up for what September was.  I realize this has little to do with being single, but this is really what I’m thankful for today. 

Autumn has a lot of memories for me with The Boyfriend.  We used to drive to the mountains every year on a Sunday to admire the leaves.  I was lucky enough to spend 6 birthdays with him.  But I think this year, three birthdays later, I am finally able to enjoy this time of year alone. 

I think things are going to be okay.

3 thoughts on “Freedom Friday: October

  1. October is a great time of year…except for what happened tonight with my hapless/hopeless Dawgs. But on the scale of Epic Fails, nothing tops what happened in Baton Rouge today – I truly felt for the Vols, that was absolutely devastating for those kids…holy smokes.

  2. hello!This was a really splendid topic!
    I come from roma, I was luck to find your Topics in baidu
    Also I learn much in your subject really thanks very much i will come later

Leave a Reply

