Reluctantly Following the Rules


Facebook logo
Image via Wikipedia

Despite some recent setbacks, there is actually someone I’m sort of interested in. I’m confused about what to do, exactly, but it’s a step that I am interested in this person.

I met this guy working at a store near where I work on a college campus. He’s friendly and we had a conversation about a magazine that was at the register when I bought my diet coke a few months ago. Anyway, we chit chatted, I thought he was funny, and so I went out on a limb and added him on Facebook. But despite the add, and despite seeing him several more times in the store, we didn’t talk much. In the past month he’s commented here and there on a couple of my Facebook statuses and he’s actually mentioned a couple of my statuses when I’ve been in the store. However…there’s just not much there.

I’m not sure how to make the transition and let someone know I’m interested. He seems like a fun guy, we have a few things in common. I would be open to going somewhere and seeing what kind of time we had.

I can’t tell if he’s interested or not. On the one hand, if he’s interested, he’d probably have talked to me by now, more than just a passing comment or two on a social media outlet, right? And almost every book I’ve read says “Don’t pursue a man, let him come to you”. I want to pursue him, however, if the books say no…who am I to go against it? Isn’t this what I’m here to do? Take the sage advice?

So today I made sure my Facebook obviously states that I am single. How pathetic is that? At least it’s out there again. And I could make more attempts to be friendly I suppose. Maybe this is a lost cause. I’m not sure why I’m so focused on this pursuit. He’s attractive, seems witty, and likes football. It just seems like an option. More realistic than anything else I’ve thought about in a while.

I don’t think I’m supposed to ask him out. But if I were going to let someone know I was interested, how do I transition here? Is it possible?

 

2 thoughts on “Reluctantly Following the Rules

  1. Pingback: Sext me later. |

Leave a Reply

