Where do you think you will meet a guy you are interersted in?


This is a good question, mostly because the answer is “I don’t know”. I am realistic enough to know that he isn’t going to come walking through my front door, so I have to put myself out there. But it’s honestly not as easy as just showing up at a place where I’d like to meet someone and having it happen. Most everyone I’ve ever dated started out as a friend, and since I’ve dated all my friends and have run out of them too, I’m not sure where to turn.

I’m working on a post about where I’m going to start going with specific intent to meet men–grocery stores, sushi bars, etc.

Ask me anything

9 thoughts on “Where do you think you will meet a guy you are interersted in?

  1. When I was single I would look at the books that told women where single men are and then I would try those places

  2. You should try skiing…There are so many more men who ski than women, and you can talk on the chairlift all you want. Drinks afterwards, you can both talk about your shared experience. That is the most important thing about dating is the shared experience. Because then you can talk about the experience. Min golf is better than a movie or dinner because it does several things
    1) cost does not become an issue
    2) it is a shared experience that you can talk about.
    3) You will learn about that person by their actions and not just words
    4) Meeting in a bar all you have to go on are their words not their actions
    What do I know….? I have been with my wife for over 20 years and have 2 great kids with her. Also see the play “Defending the caveman” and it will give you insight onto how men work. We are very simple creatures, we say what we mean and we mean what we say, and we are not thinking that much about anything…..

    1. Thanks for reading and commenting! The whole point of this blog is that I’m taking advice, so I will always appreciate comments with advice!

      I like your thoughts on having a shared experience. We totally agree on that. Nothing worse than the interview style date, except maybe an interview style date when you don’t even have a ‘resume’ to base your questions on!

      I was in Vegas twice this year and missed Defending the Caveman twice, but I hope to get back and will put it on my list!

      Thanks for commenting,

      Xoxo The Blonde

  3. Firstly, if you want to find someone you’ll have things in common with, meet him or her doing the things you enjoy. In college I worked in bookstore coffee shops because I wanted to meet girls who a) read and b) were into the snobbish coffee-shop things that I was into back then. Secondly, try to find a place where the numbers are in your favor. The school I went to was 60-40 gals to guys and it was almost impossible to not date high quality women. Later, when I was in training in the military the numbers were swapped; there were about 5 guys to every girl. Just finding any single women who weren’t damaged goods was a feat. Which brings my to my last point: you probably already know someone that’s a great fit for you. I’ve studied exotic cultures and traveled all around the country, but when it was time to get married I came back to a girl I’d known since high school. Sometimes to find someone who shares your values you need to find someone with a similar upbringing to your own.

    By far the most important thing in dating is to not make excuses. My wife and I never really dated because we were never in the same place for any extended period of time. Eventually I just got tired of letting distance sit between us. I flew her across the country to visit me every month until we had the chance to live close enough to have a more standard relationship.

    1. The numbers game intrigues me. I feel like things I am interested in should lend itsself to having the numbers in my favor, I just need to put myself out there into the situations more.

      I am going through my invisible rolodex in my brain trying to figure out who I might know…stay tuned šŸ™‚

      Thanks for reading,
      Xoxo The Blonde

      Hopefully you’ll revisit my blog and see where I have success (and failures. sigh.)

  4. After you have had a conventional date or two .. first one a glass of wine .. second one dinner .. the third one must be some experience you share and not just talk. It might be a day trip to a nearby town, an afternoon at an amusement park, etc. .. just something you can DO together.

Leave a Reply

