Independence Day


Composed on 7-4-2010

Two years ago today I received my first car.  Along with this came a whole new world of freedom, mostly out of necessity, but freedom nonetheless.  Though the relationship was over weeks before, July 4, 2008 is the day that I realized that I would never return to the home I shared with my The Boyfriend.  In a sense, it was the shot-heard-round-the-world of my relationship when he didn’t show up for my family party.  It signified the beginning of the end, much like the composition and publishing of the Declaration of Independence merely announced the intentions of the colonies.

Honestly, it wasn’t my choice.  There wasn’t much I could do though.  Left with the pieces of what remained, I could only simply declare my intentions to be a happier, healthier, whole person again one day, no matter what I had to do to get there.   Part of me knew it was going to be a fight, and not just one battle.  Independence is surrendered in tiny pieces, one solemn event at a time.  Sometimes you’re winning the war.  Other times you’re out in the cold with no emotional protection.  In the end, it’s a war you must win.  To lose this battle for Independence means losing everything.

And just like the young America, once physical independence has been won, it’s still a bumpy road.  I am still trying to decide what laws will govern me, how I will make decisions, and who I should let into this new lifestyle.  Much like the colonies, it’s a lot of trial and error.  I can merely make educated decisions and monitor the outcomes.  But in the last year and a half, I can promise you there has never been a day that I haven’t thanked God that I am becoming who I am–one person, independent!

So this year I am just celebrating my second Independence Day despite being 25.  I will pour myself a beer at the picnic, celebrate with some fireworks, and smile to myself as I celebrate the birth of our nation and the rebirth of myself. Today, I intend to celebrate my single lifestyle, my ability to stand on my own two feet.  I survived the Valley Forge, I met at Bunker Hill.  Saratoga has come and passed.  I have nothing ahead but life, liberty, and pursuit of happiness.  Sometimes, in the course of human events, it becomes necessary for one person to stand up for herself.  Here I am.  I am so proud of myself!

Happy Independence Day!

One thought on “Independence Day

Leave a Reply

